Baleful Creed – ‘Baleful Creed’   9 comments

Hailing from Belfast, Northern Ireland, Baleful Creed are a hard and heavy classic stoner rock and metal band.  Influences include Black Sabbath, Danzig, Fireball Ministry, AIC, Soundgarden and Kyuss.  Their story begins with the production of their debut EP ‘Killing Time’, in 2009.  The second EP, ‘Buried Beneath’, closely followed in 2010.  Their next EP, ‘111’, came in 2012, when all their music was collectively released by their bandcamp digital online store.

Next, the last two EP’s were merged, remixed and remastered into an album, for CD release – this became the self titled debut (album), released on 29th December 2013.  Preparation work took place in 2014.  2015 saw them touring and creating new material for the next album, recorded on 18th December 2015.  It would be completed in early 2016, at Manor Park studios – the site of all recordings to date.

Baleful Creed’s music has been spread far and wide internationally.  The band have featured in Powerplay and Fireworks.  They’ve supported Bill Steer’s (from Carcass) band Firebird.  They’re the only band to be top 10 finalists in 2 TBFM factors in 2012 and 2014 – beating stiff competition, consisting of hundreds of other bands.

Baleful Creed – A true heavy stoner essence to that intro.  A bit like a heavier version of The Answer.  I can hear them on the Crobar album already.  It’s a really cool, comfortable listen.  A real accomplished, consummate pro feel to it.  Plenty of thrumming bass aswell as velvet smooth riffs that slide down like a glass of iced chocolate on a hot summers day.  Effortless drum fills and flowing vocals, with a background sense of a well chosen mix of stoner heavy influences.  An impressive opener.

Autumn Leaves – Ooh, there’s a definite doomy, hard emphasis there, that’ll pull you in hard.  Catchiness abounds in here, both lyrically and melodically.  Intelligently created and rightfully owning the magic escapist thread, like no one’s business.  Gravel, grit, attention to detail, atmosphere in spades.  You just have to love this.

Iluminati – Opening with an unquestionable drum hit, following on from that with a bass heavy section which just echoes through the floorboards.  The whole thing just fits like a glove.  Great melody, gorgeous choruses, heavenly riffs, musical drum rolls, cohesion incarnate.  It’s got it all and it carries you happily away, as you float on a magic carpet of metal.  Sheer heaven.  This is one of the most blissful songs I’ve heard this year.

Crazy Man – Moving with complete fluidity, right into a stunning guitar riff I’d be happy to climb inside and listen to endlessly.  If ever there was a lyrically and musically seductive track, it’s this one.  Real, truly powerful and sexily catchy.  You need this in your life now.  That’s one of the strongest choruses I’ve ever had the great fortune to hear … in my ENTIRE life.  Absolutely enthralling.

Misanthrope – Bringing the beat down a notch, to Clutch- esque proportions, I’ve just imagined them walking into one of my favourite rock venues, plugging in their amps and getting straight down to business.  There’s a genuine magic captured within the sound and rhythm of this band.  They belong at the very heart of where metal lives strong and true.  You’re gonna get into these drum beats and imagine yourself transported to the metal paradise of your own imaginations.  Uplifting, meaningful, intense and addictive.  There’s even a very slight Rammsteinesque rhythm at the end).  Got the magic and mystery down, sensationally.

Double F.S. – Oh yeah, that feels good.  See how sexy this album is?  A nicely downtoned opening thrudding riff and bass line, setting the scene for a visually enhancing track, from the start.  Gravelly, American West Coast imagery lives and breathes.  Listen carefully and you may just catch a bit of Crue influence in there, somewhere.  Perfect escapism.

Hex – Heaviness incarnate intros this and it positively bleeds it all the way into the track.  A seriously born to rock band.  Oh those vocals are just divine.  Manly, gritty, sensual and naturally rocky, with an inbuilt groove and bluesy leaning.  Made for metal.  Really catchy rhythm.  Classic closing drum hit.  Pure divinity.

Her Promise – Exciting, fun driven riff intro – a classic vocal line and pace and everything melds together, so cohesively.  This opens itself up fully to the joy and expressionism of rock.  You will join in, cos you won’t be able to help yourself.  It’s gonna suck you into a vortex of metallic joy – especially during that closing riff.  I tell you, the Gods of Metal have opened up the floodgates of metal heaven and rained it down on the world for this song.  Truth, sincerity and utter 100 % conviction.

Thorazine – Back to doom, with a Sabbathesque intro, worthy of ‘Black Sabbath’ itself.  Darkness permeates, whilst light drips through every hole in the enclosure.  Passion resides in every beat of these lyrics.  A mysteriously fading mid-section, with a wave like underwater essence, removing you to a world of ambient space, till the delights of hard edged rock return, to suck you right in and trap you forever in the density of metallic destiny.

Suffer In Silence – Now that there is one of the classiest intro riffs in existence.  Gliding so easily from one pace and rhythm to another, it’s simply unstoppable.  There’s such a rabid intensity to this, it’ll touch even the deepest, darkest moods.  Immense riff changes and drives after the mid-section and all so, so beautifully played.  The vocals really do get right down to the absolute depths of emotion and it’s all finished off with a sublimely intense drum roll.

Overall – Here, we have the very heights of rocky, metallic emotion, expression and experience, all wrapped up in the most creative, soulful, and in-depth way.  It’s an album which exudes elemental forces on a scale unheard of in this life.  If there’s such a one-off genre as ‘angelic metal,’ this is it.

10/10 **********

if I could rate them out of 100, they’d get the whole 100%, with additional extras.

For fans of Down, The Answer, Kyuss, Electric Wizard, Witchcraft, Corrosion Of Conformity, Cathedral, Clutch, AIC and other high-level stoner rock. 

Album available from: 

‘Crazy Man’ video:


Posted October 10, 2016 by jennytate in Uncategorized

9 responses to “Baleful Creed – ‘Baleful Creed’

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Pingback: Baleful Creed

  2. I love your blog.. very nice colors & theme. Did you make this website yourself or did you hire someone to do it for you? Plz reply as I’m looking to construct my own blog and would like to know where u got this from. appreciate it

    • The main blog page was initially set up by the then IT manager at the radio station I was volunteering for at the time. He set up my login details for me, so I could get started. All I do is focus on contents.

  3. Currently it appears like BlogEngine is the top blogging platform out there right now. (from what I’ve read) Is that what you are using on your blog?

  4. Someone essentially help to make seriously articles I would state. This is the very first time I frequented your web page and thus far? I surprised with the research you made to create this particular publish extraordinary. Magnificent job!

  5. Pingback: Baleful Creed

  6. Very neat article.Thanks Again. Will read on…

  7. I am so grateful for your article post.Thanks Again. Keep writing.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: