One For Sorrow – ‘Blood Songs’   54 comments

Introducing ‘Blood Songs’, captivating new album from One For Sorrow. Engineered, mixed and produced by Dan Abela at Rock of London Studios, mastered by Jens Bogren at Fascination Street Studios. Artwork by Beaye Malphas.

Underfoot – Drum heavy intro, with nifty riffs and a catchy rhythm, with equally hooky vocals. Grit, energy and plenty of mosh potential. Loaded with melody, a grungy edge and a little bit of growl makes this a high octane track, that says ‘metal’, loud and clear.

Return To Dust – Groove laden intro, steady beat and an uplifting tone. It works. Audible new wave influence, slight cross-over stance, into a hard-core sound, in places and well constructed arrangements. Always retaining the melody, varying the volume and tempo, here and there, yet never detracting from the generally catchy pace that stands out, above everything. Just upping the growl factor, at the end, before the fade-out riff; great job.

Headstrong – Instantly, it sounds like the title, in a plausible, immediate way. Bringing the catchiness, once again, in the upbeat rhythmic melody, it’s immensely rocky and hugely enjoyable. Injecting more of those vibrant riffs, throwing all the passion he can muster into those gravel laced vocals, carrying it along, on a bed of steel edged drums, it’s an ace.

Said And Done – Steadier beat, with a slight Pearl Jam feel. Just an edge of contemplation, fuelled by high energy and gravitas, this is where the breathing space enters and opens up the harmonies, filling up the space, with creative intuition. Lots of heavy duty instrumentals, closing the track, in just the right way.

420 – Increasing the beat now, taking the pace up a bit, with a groovy sound, loaded with feeling and performed with effortless ease and obvious relish. This just sails along, till the end. Its brevity’s of no consequence, as it packs so much into one short song.

Bigot – A slightly sinister, telling edge to this intro, capturing the essence of its title easily. Coming in, with a heavy drum section, then and a matching darker sense to the vocals. Rocking it up, with a growing rhythmic emphasis, from which, greater melody emerges. The catchy angle’s down pat and the enthusiasm’s clear to hear. Always, the outstanding factor is that voice, into which, so much passion is thrown. The riff melodies really are gorgeous, though and the cohesive timing and feel of everything is what makes it.

Fools And Liars – Faster paced intro, injecting a slightly more acute energy and a sense of anger, still performed in a catchy package. More grit and gravel, with a rougher edge, this time. Darkening the track, with a deathy, extreme angle, at the end and it’s done.

Merciless – Changing up the pace again and now, introing a ticker tape like sound effect, briefly, before moving, fluidly, back into those still gritty, but slightly softer vocals, yet they showcase the odd intermittent growly sound. Take nothing for granted here. It’s unpredictable and excitingly so.

The Mass Aversion – Introing a bit of reverb and some wah wah effects here, that Pearl Jam sound returns, along with a P.O.D. thing in there, too. Now, there are collective vocal harmonies, in addition to the solos and it’s an effective angle. Heavier emphasis in the choruses and those drum sections are just consummate and effortlessly conveyed. Closing on a final fade-out vocal; another winner.

First To The Fight – Another exemplary melodically descriptive example of its title. The immediacy’s impressive, as is the obvious stamina in this performance. Catchiness in spades and rhythmic melody in shovelfuls. Something of a bluesy aspect to this, but the groove is what does it best. True hard rock, heavy metal territory.

Spook – Bringing in a gentler, softer acoustic sound now, creating the perfect window of opportunity for the lighter side of the vocals to be demonstrated. There’s a beauty within that sound, which just flows, enhancing the album all the more for it. You can’t help but find yourself getting caught up in the feel of the melody. Just so affecting. Yet again, it exemplifies the title so accurately and so beautifully.

Into The Woods – Startlingly good follow-up, with such an immediate excitement, it’s ideal, as the closer. A classic beat, reminiscent of an old school flavour, with true mosh pit construction. Positively filled with head-banging, massively involving, catch and metal fuelled energy.

Overall – A fabulously heavy, hook laden album, of groove-based, grit filled, moshing metal. Epically rocky and worthy of a place amongst your top 10 albums.

10/10 **********

For fans of Pearl Jam, P.O.D., Nirvana, Soundgarden, Zocalo, Stiltskin, Nickelback, Kickin’ Valentina, Soil, A.I.C. and other groove and blues-based hard edged grunge.

Artwork and links TBC.

Available now.

Posted November 30, 2017 by jennytate in Uncategorized

54 responses to “One For Sorrow – ‘Blood Songs’

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Pingback: One For Sorrow

  2. Pingback: One For Sorrow

  3. Pingback: One For Sorrow

  4. Pingback: One For Sorrow

  5. Pingback: One For Sorrow

  6. Once I originally commented I clicked the -Notify me when new comments are added- checkbox and now every time a remark is added I get 4 emails with the identical comment. Is there any means you possibly can take away me from that service? Thanks!

  7. Pingback: One For Sorrow

  8. I more or less share your opinion on this topic and look forward to additional posts and comments here at Thanks!

  9. Pingback: URL

  10. Pingback: Homepage

  11. Pingback: Denver Chiropractors

  12. Pingback: didi

  13. Pingback: Greensboro NC Greensboro Audi Full Service Auto Repair

  14. Pingback: mejaqq

  15. Pingback: YouTube

  16. Pingback: türkiyenin amina koyim

  17. Pingback: Golden Eagle Plantation Tallahassee FL

  18. Pingback: cpasbien

  19. Pingback: UWAGA nie płaci za SEO

  20. Pingback: Get Your New Website Today

  21. Pingback: buy instagram likes for cheap

  22. Pingback: ทางเข้าUFABET

  23. Pingback: Provillus Hair regrowth treatment

  24. Pingback: Creative Agency in Orlando

  25. Pingback: Dentist in Huntington New York

  26. Pingback: dreadlocks hairstyles

  27. Pingback: sen bir oğlansın

  28. Pingback: sen bir oğlansın

  29. Pingback: สล็อต

  30. Pingback:

  31. Pingback: w88 club

  32. Pingback: con heo dat remix

  33. Pingback: บริษัท ออล ครีเอตี้ แลนด์ จำกัด

  34. Pingback: interqq

  35. Pingback: indo qq

  36. Pingback: idr poker

  37. Pingback: jaguarqq

  38. Pingback: ROCHESTER MN realtor

  39. Pingback: ww88 com

  40. Pingback: nhà cái uy tín

  41. Pingback:

  42. Pingback:

  43. Pingback:

  44. Pingback:

  45. Pingback:

  46. Pingback:

  47. Pingback:

  48. Pingback:

  49. Pingback: พนันออนไลน์

  50. Pingback: link bong88

  51. This design is incredible! You definitely know how to keep a reader amused. Between your wit and your videos, I was almost moved to start my own blog (well, almost…HaHa!) Wonderful job. I really enjoyed what you had to say, and more than that, how you presented it. Too cool!

  52. Admiring the commitment you put into your website and detailed information you present. It’s nice to come across a blog every once in a while that isn’t the same old rehashed information. Excellent read! I’ve bookmarked your site and I’m including your RSS feeds to my Google account.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: