I-Def-I – ‘In The Light Of A New Day’   24 comments

Introducing I-Def-I’s latest album, ‘In The Light Of A New Day’.

The Horror – Opening with the sound of eerie static, combined with an icy tactile sense. Flowing into a light and dark combo, with melody injected into it, perfect vocal cohesion and a hammering drum roll, easily moving into a freer style and back again, with such accomplishment. Short, but satisfactory.

Incite The Sunrise – Heavier drums introing, with a darkened edge. Stronger thrash sound to the vocals, but still interchangeably melodic. Some undeniably extreme screams in there, too. A shorter one, again, but loads of power, regardless.

Truth Or Dare – Immediate catchy riffs and drum hits introing now, joined by melodic and aggression tinged vocals. Harder drum beats, harder edge creeping into both riffs and vocals and harder altogether. Heavier essence, to the end. Another brief one.

Static And Signals – (Speaking Without Words) – Gentler melody, with a distinctly NWOBHM sound and more of those static filled riffs. Lots more drum presence and again, it’s light and heavy, at once and just demonstrates yet again, the effortless ease with which one style flows into another. Brief, but loaded.

Kinetic – Tasty fingerpicking intro’s this and a sense of deep and meaningful pathos. Again, that fluid nature resounds through it. Still, they manage to alternate it with notable aggression and swing between the two, in a heartbeat. It’s a rare ability and it’s so marked within this album. Closing on a pleasant, subtly performed fade-out riff, leaving a sense of serenity in its wake, there’s a fragile strength inherent within it.

966 – Crushing intro! Instantly impacting, hard-hitting aggression. Interestingly interweaving vicious death style vocals with gentler melodic ones. Throwing heaps of passion into the show, there’s a wildness in here, both edgy and natural, within a raging expression.

Tunnel Rat – Fluid sense to the sound, instantly. Looser in feel, catchier element to it, more vocally focused and a much bigger riff involvement now. Some nice strumming in there aswell. This may not be a long track, but it’s very soothing and very pleasantly listenable.

Prosthetiquette – Back up the mood goes, in an instant, to fresher, freer, more open, freestyle territory. All conveyed within those first few bars. Electrifying riffs, even incorporating a bit of electric slide – a rare thing indeed. Really catchy vocals, much more melodically inclined, yet still throwing in the odd passionate power scream, topping it off with the same. This is likely to be a crowd-pleaser.

Mano Destra Mano Sinistre – Returning to solemnity once more, this is just a simple, but deeply haunting guitar instrumental, of one line, into which, a world of emotion is thrown. Moving, on a big scale.

Asyla – (She Of The Flames) – Blazing into life, with a very classic sound, which is noticeably more melodic, with a slight power element. Edging towards death territory, at times, it’s more NWOBHM than anything else. Gaining in catchiness, an abrupt end, but it makes an impression, which is largely positive.

Army Of The Locust – Banging, electrifying intro, with lightning riffs and a steady calmness to the vocals, fluidly and melodically presented. An increasing drum presence and greater vocal range experimentation. Catchy in places, even if some tones are an acquired sound.

Closing Season – Moving into unquestionable heavy territory now, there’s an immediate ease in the performance, taking it exactly where it needs to go, never missing a beat. Versatility is the name of the game, easily exemplified by the ability to segue, so effortlessly, from styles of one extreme to another. Slightly more could possibly have been made of this, but it’s effective enough to make a strong impact.

Beauty Into Devastation – Speeding up the pace now, a heavier feel to this, from the start. A clearer rhythm, too and more deathy aspects. Great focus here, especially as every section’s so competently handled and frequent rhythmic changes and tempo alternations are no object. In each case, the vocals rise easily, to the challenge, in sync with the well able instrumentals. Ending on a gory shout, it’s a capable and well performed song.

What Keeps You Safe – A sinister note’s crept in now and a much bigger sound, altogether. Racing riffs and drum hits catch up, vocals becoming even catchier, with some great harmonies. You just have to join in with this. Catchy all the way and that’s the greatest draw of this one).

Broken Glass – Instantly and affectingly taking the whole tone down now, to one of melancholic, contemplative space. An obvious profundity to the lyrics lends them absolute plausibility. The acoustic guitar leading this is truly beautiful. The only criticism I’d have of this is that the sound quality would benefit from a pop shield. Though the background popping is possibly deliberate, in order to add an aural backdrop to the title, it’s distracting and detracts from the beauty and salience of the track.

Overall – A capably performed production, with cohesive quality, lots of catch and versatility, in spades. Proof of I-Def-I’s considerable range of ability and natural talent and passion for metal.

9/10 *********

For fans of NWOBHM, melo-death, thrash and speed/power metal.


Artwork absent, due to temporary technical issues.


Posted December 21, 2017 by jennytate in Uncategorized

24 responses to “I-Def-I – ‘In The Light Of A New Day’

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Pingback: I-Def-I

  2. Pingback: I-Def-I

  3. Pingback: I-Def-I

  4. Pingback: I-Def-I

  5. Pingback: I-Def-I

  6. Pingback: I-Def-I

  7. Pingback: I-Def-I

  8. Pingback: I-Def-I

  9. Pingback: I-Def-I

  10. Pingback: I-Def-I

  11. Hey There. I found your blog the use of msn. That is a really neatly written article. I will be sure to bookmark it and come back to read extra of your helpful info. Thanks for the post. I’ll certainly return.

  12. Wow that was strange. I just wrote an really long comment but after I clicked submit my comment didn’t show up. Grrrr… well I’m not writing all that over again. Anyways, just wanted to say great blog!

  13. Keep functioning ,fantastic job!

  14. Hello there, just became aware of your blog through Google, and found that it’s really informative. I am going to watch out for brussels. I’ll be grateful if you continue this in future. Lots of people will be benefited from your writing. Cheers!

  15. you are truly a just right webmaster. The site loading velocity is incredible. It sort of feels that you’re doing any unique trick. Furthermore, The contents are masterpiece. you’ve performed a fantastic task on this topic!

  16. Thanks for one’s marvelous posting! I really enjoyed reading it, you are a great author.I will ensure that I bookmark your blog and may come back very soon. I want to encourage you to definitely continue your great job, have a nice weekend!

  17. Pingback: I-Def-I

  18. Pingback: I-Def-I

  19. Just fabulous. Who wrote this and how can we get more?

  20. Pingback: I-Def-I

  21. Pingback: I-Def-I

  22. “Hi! I just want to give you a huge thumbs up for your excellent info you’ve got right here on this post. I will be returning to your site for more soon.”

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: