Shadowpath – ‘Rumours Of A Coming Dawn’   13 comments

From Berne, Switzerland, Shadowpath, a melodic dark metal/symphonic death prog metal band, are influenced by power, prog, symphonic and death metal, with an open-minded sound and a healthy disregard for traditional genre limitations. Their music aspires to a free-form dream world, of changing moods and emotional landscapes, depicted through fantasy elements and meaningful lyrics, with uplifting impact.

Prelude To Agony – Thunder and rain intro, setting the scene instantly, for a magically powerful atmosphere, the beautiful female vocals are well suited to matching. Enormous melody, within such a short time. Haunting.

Chaos Equation – Opening mysteriously, with a pounding, yet exploratory sound. Imaginary visual escapades are evoked, of entering an enchanted forest. Very much in the vein of Leaves Eyes. Any fan of operatic and folk metal will get along with this. Gorgeously tuneful riffs and some strangely fitting growly male vocals, adding to the equation – pun intended. It’s a well titled track, showcasing an effective interplay of sounds, creating sheer magic.

Seed Of Hope – Immediate pathos in those mesmerising feminine intro vocals. Thunderous instrumentals pushing forwards, following them and a lovingly performed piano section. Breath-taking beauty lies within this sound, weaving in and out of the sporadic growls and you can feel the rain of the piano notes hitting your head, as they flow. Those gorgeous vocals are just hypnotising and they close the song with more of that sense of wonder.

The Impossible Chain – Bass work introing here, with increased percussion emphasis, gradually building, to a more filled out sound, moving into the growls again, before the hauntingly ethereal piano tones take over. Such palpable emotion in the softer female vocals and such strength within the gentility. It’s almost a perfect exchange of male to female aspects, each demonstrating their highest potential. Brilliant soundtrack of the shoreline, with the waves hitting the shore. Breaking up the track, like a brief interlude, before the next section, you could be forgiven for thinking it was another song beginning. More pronounced piano emphasis and a soaring sense follows, more drum rolls and a combo of extraordinary vocal power and concentrated accompaniments. A long, but worthwhile track, filled with mystical qualities and incredible skill.

Another Inquisitor – Pounding, immediate power introing, followed, this time, by masculine growls, before the feminine element joins them. Racing pace gaining momentum, whilst the extraordinary high vocal range comes to light, emerging into a full on theatrical style, straight out of the classiest musicals imaginable. A real vocal and instrumental cohesion shows itself here and there’s an audible sacred tone, almost devotional, in its nature. The growls then return, to close it.

Deny Me – Lowered tone introing, with a deeper emotional feel. The mood soon lifts, through the cutting, light bringing instrumental edge. The vocals join in this same uplifting element and the melodic focus is huge. Bringing the whole sound upwards, in flight, the rest’s a medley of joyful surrender and release. Just magic.

For A Final Ultimatum – Drumming extravaganza opens, with a simply gorgeous, glasslike percussive sound, lending it a wintry aura. Gory growls immediately follow, chased by the lighter feminine vocals again, in an equal exchange of opposites, blending together, so amazingly. Again, the higher vocal range appears, growing catchier, by the second and ending on a precise impressively high-pitched tone. Stunning.

Beta – Mysteriously enigmatic intro, moving into a darker mood, but still retaining that light within it. It seems the light always breaks out, showing the strongest power, throughout ‘R.O.A.C.D.’ A vocal solo section interweaves the accompaniments, with more growly input, in places. A beautiful melody comes into play, becoming increasingly catchy, throughout. Those riffs are just sublime. Fantastic soaring, electrifying pitch in there and the track ends with rain, in a naturally perfect visual auditory close.

Overall – Pure magical stunning beauty. Almost impossible to articulate the level of true, passionate, accomplished musicianship and song-craft within this album, but it’s almost angelic. Bands and albums of this nature don’t come along often. ‘R.O.A.C.D.’ needs to be heard and it needs to be known. It holds extraordinary power and sheer magnetism and it’s truly amazing, awe-inspiring and rare.

10/10 **********

For fans of Leaves Eyes, Lacuna Coil, Nightwish, Evanescence, Aonia, Delain, Apparition, Middnatsol.

Released October 6th, 2017.

Posted January 13, 2018 by jennytate in Uncategorized

13 responses to “Shadowpath – ‘Rumours Of A Coming Dawn’

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Hello. remarkable job. I did not imagine this. This is a great story. Thanks!

    • Thank you, although it’s a review, rather than a story). As opposed to imaginative storytelling, I actually review factual music submissions and I like to think of the outcome as being my truth.

  2. Awsome website! I am loving it!! Will be back later to read some more. I am bookmarking your feeds also.

  3. Pingback: Shadowpath

  4. Pingback: Shadowpath

  5. Pingback: Shadowpath

  6. Pingback: Shadowpath

  7. Pingback: Shadowpath

  8. Pingback: Shadowpath

  9. Pingback: Shadowpath

  10. Pingback: Shadowpath

  11. This is a topic which is near to my heart… Take care! Where are your contact details though?

    • You should find my email address in the ‘about author’ section. I may have also added it into the FAQ section. Just have a root around. It’s definitely here somewhere).

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: